Home   Alpabetical list of all authors    Photos of Woordfees 04, 05 and 2006 and 2010   Awards   Authors of the Day, 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  Launches

www.StellenboschWriters.comAuthors of the day 13

Hermann Giliomee
Hermann Giliomee
was awarded the Jan H Marais Prize 2016
Read more
Willem Anker
Willem Anker was awarded the Hertzog Prize 2016 for Buys: 'n Grensroman
He is a lecturer in creative writing and Afrikaans literature at Stellenbosch University.
Stephanus Muller
Stephanus Muller was awarded the Eugène Marais Prize 2016 for Nagmusiek
He is a professor at the Music Department, Stellenbosch University.
Marita van der Vyver
Marita van der Vyver
was awarded the Scheepers Prize for youth literature 2016
for Swemlesse vir 'n meermin
Renata Coetzee
Renata Coetzee
received the Special Honorary Award from the Academy 2016
for her lifetime contribution to international awareness, knowledge and appreciation of the food culture heritage of the different population groups in South Africa.
Louise Viljoen
Louise Viljoen
was awarded the Gustav Preller Prize 2016
for literary work in Afrikaans
Carel van der Merwe
Carel van der Merwe
, was awarded the Protea boekhouse price 2016
for Donker stroom - Eugene Marais en die Anglo-Boereoorlog

Michael Samways
received the Golden Academy medal 2016 for his contribution in natural sciences.
Lizette Rabe
Lizette Rabe received the Stals-prize for Communication and Journalism 2015 and the Kanselierstoekenning (Chancelors Award) 2016

In memoriam

Mark Behr

1963 - 2015

Author of novels, short stories and essays
Associate Professor of Creative Writing at Rhodes College, Memphis, TN

passed away on 27 November 2015 at the age of 52.

Bertie du Plessis

Bertie du Plessis

1949 - 2015
Change Agent / Educator / Artist

Bertie passed away on 17 December 2015.

Rage, rage against the dying of the light
Rage, rage against the dying of the light

Thank you, dear friend, for the many times you gave me help and encouragement.

P.H. Kapp

Pieter Kapp

1940 - 20116

Emeritus Professor of History, Stellenbosch University
and former president of the University's Convocation.
Re-elected member of the current management of Stellenbosch University's Convocation until 2011.

Pieter Kapp passed away on 10 January 2016


Webmasterwww.StellenboschWriters.com © Rosemarie Breuer