Home   Alpabetical list of all authors    Photos of Woordfees 04, 05 and 2006   Awards   Authors of the Day, 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  Launches

www.StellenboschWriters.comAuthors of the day 8

In memoriam

Jan de Villiers
8 March 1922 - 10 May 2009

J. L. de Villiers

Professor of Theology Stellenbosch University until his retirement in 1987

This is an excellent website for Afrikaans poets initiated by
Marlise Joubert Marlise Joubert, poet and painter
(webmeester & mede-organiseerder: Versindaba )
Louis Esterhuizen, poet and manager of Protea Bookshop
(inhoudsbestuurder & mede-organiseerder: Versindaba)

Loftus Marais won the Eugène Marais Prize 2009
for his debut Staan in die algemeen nader aan vensters.
Francois Verster signing books at the KKNK, 2009.
Francois Verster signing his page in the
Nuwe Kinderverseboek at the KKNK, 2009.

The renowned philosopher and expert of cognitive science, Prof Daniel Dennett from Tufts University in Medford, Massachusetts in the USA, presented a lecture in the JS Gericke library on 1 April 2009.
Dan Dennett Daniel C. Dennett and Anton van Niekerk
Daniel C. Dennett and Anton van Niekerk     Daniel Dennett's books

In memoriam:

Audrey Blignault, 1916 - 2008

Audrey Blignault

Chris Orffer
Chris Orffer, 1926 - 2008
Douglas Hey
Douglas Hey, 1914 - 2008

Annie Schumann, 1917 - 2008

Authors of the day:   New authors: J A Loubser, Annie Schumann
Hennie Aucamp
Hennie Aucamp's new poetry book: Vlamsalmander
Paddy Bouma
Paddy Bouma's new picture book: The Mouseboat, Die Muisboot
Frederick Van Zyl Slabbert
Frederik Van Zyl Slabbert

is Stellenbosch University's new Chancellor
Read more
Breyten Breytenbach
Breyten Breytenbach

Hertzog Prize for poetry 2008
for Die Windvanger
Henning Pieterse
Henning Pieterse

Nedbank-Academy award for translation 2008
for Rainer Maria Rilke: Duino-Elegie'. (Duineser Elegien)
Piet & Rottie
Piet Grobler
was recently awarded the Katrine Harries Award for Children's Book Illustrations for the last few years:
1999-2001, 2002-2003 and 2004/05.
New: Fussy Freya by Katharine Quarmby, 2008
TF Kruger
Academy Gold Medal 2008
for excellence in Natural Sciences

Titia Ballot
Academy Honorary Award 2008 for visual arts

Marjorie van Heerden
received the M.E.R. award for Best illustrated children's book, 2008 for Wendy Hartman's
Nina and the little duck

Michael Samways
was awarded the John Herschel Medal 2008 by the Royal Society of South Africa.

Webmasterwww.StellenboschWriters.com © Rosemarie Breuer