Home   Alpabetical list of all authors    Photos of Woordfees 04, 05 and 2006 and 2010   Awards   Authors of the Day, 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  Launches

www.StellenboschWriters.comAuthors of the day 11

Dorothea van Zyl
Photo found at LitNet
Dorothea van Zyl, Hero of the US Woordfees

1. - 10. March - US Woordfees 2013: Chronologiese program
Fotoblad: US Woordfees 2013


Klaus Breuer

1968 - 2013

In memoriam

We wish to thank our friends for alleviating our pain with their sympathy and very kind messages. - The Breuer family

Una van der Spuy

Una van der Spuy My Favourite Plants

20 July 1912 - 16 July 2012

Una van der Spuy was the creator of a world famous garden at her homestead Oude Nectar.

Piet Grobler lost his wife Marietjie and 10 year old daughter Catherina in a road accident near Pretoria on 25 July 2012.
Francois Verster in Bolander: Geliefde Piet se verlies tref ons ook (pdf)

Pieter W. Grobbelaar
Pieter Willem Grobbelaar

25 December 1930 - 19 January 2013

Bun Booyens and P W Grobbelaar
Met die elmboë op die tafel: twee groot geeste (Read the article pdf)
Bun Booyens and Pieter W. Grobbelaar
by Francois Verster, February 2013

Freda Linde

1915 - 2013

Freda Linde- click to enlarge
Photo by Philip de Vos
passed away peacefully on 7 March 2013

Authors of the day:

2012 Media24 Books Literary Awards
Read more and see photos at LitNet
media24media24 foto by Alwyn van Zyl
Photos by Alwyn van Zyl
Michiel Heyns was awarded the Herman Charles Bosman Prize 2012 for best English fiction and the Sunday Times Literary Award 2012 for his novel Lost Ground.
Dan Sleigh: WA Hofmeyr Prize for best Afrikaans fiction 2012 for Wals met Matilda
media24 foto by Alwyn van Zyl

Marjorie van Heerden
Marjorie van Heerden
received the MER Prize for Best Illustrated Book 2012:
Goblin diaries - Apprenticed to the Red Witch
by Alex D'Angelo
Jan Visagie
Jan Visagie

Genealogist of the Year 2012
Ingrid Winterbach
Ingrid Winterbach
the C.L. Engelbrecht Prize for Literature 2012 for
Die boek van toeval en toeverlaat
Sonja Loots
Sonja Loots wins
Eugène Marais Prize 2012 for Sirkusboere
Temple Hauptfleisch in 2011
Temple Hauptfleisch
is the founder and general editor of
ESAT: The Encyclopaedia of South African Theatre and Performance

Carina Diedericks-Hugo received the ATKV-Children's book award 2012 (Standard 8 - 10) for Permanente ink
www.WOORDFEES.co.za :
2. - 11. Maart 2012

Philip de Vos, Dorothea van Zyl, Hennie Aucamp - click to enlarge
Philip de Vos, Dorothea van Zyl, Hennie Aucamp
Photo by Izak de Vries
Find more Woordfees photos in his his blog.

John Kannemeyer
31 March 1939 - 25 December 2011

At the time of his death on 25 December 2011, J. C. Kannemeyer had just completed the biography JM Coetzee: 'n Geskryfde lewe. The biography has been translated into English by Michiel Heyns (JM Coetzee: A life in writing).

Authors of the day:

Louis Esterhuizen
Louis Esterhuizen received the Protea Prize 2011 for
Wat die water onthou
Doctor honoris causa of Stellenbosch University:
Detlev Kröger
Detlev Kröger
, a world leader in the field of
air-cooled heat exchangers and cooling towers
Wilna Adriaanse
Wilna Adriaanse's book, Vier Seisoene Kind
was awarded an 'ATKV-Woordveertjie' 2011 for best romance novels.
Melt Myburgh
Photo by Izak de Vries
Melt Myburgh wins the Ingrid Jonker Prize 2011
for Oewerbestaan
Ingrid Winterbach
Ingrid Winterbach wins M-Net Literary Award 2011 for
Die Benederyk
Dave Hughes
Wine legend, Dave Hughes
wine writer and wine ambassador has been honoured
by the South African Port Producers' Association (SAPPA)
for his contribution to building the image of Port in South Africa
and internationally. Read more
Marlene van Niekerk
Marlene van Niekerk
The PanSALB Multilingualism Awards 2011
for Afrikaans literacy and for the advancement of Afrikaans
and The Order of Ikhamanga (silber)
Her new play, Die Kortstondige Raklewe van Anastasia W
was opened on 13 April 2011 in Stellenbosch
and won the Anglo-Gold Ashanti Smeltkroes Price
for best new text and the Aartvark Award for innovative work.
Mhlobo Jadezweni
Mhlobo Jadezweni received the PANSALB award 2011
for the promotion of Xhosa language and literature

Lina Spies
was awarded the
Academy Prize 2011 for the (first complete)
translation of Anne Frank's Diaries:
Die agterhuis
Photo by Izak de Vries
Elsa and Dorothea van Zyl
WOORDtroFEES 2011:
Elsa Joubert was named Word artist 2011.
Her memoirs, Reisiger, also won the
Recht Malan Prize for non-fiction
the Via Afrika Literary Award 2010
Louis Hiemstra Price for non-fiction, 2011
Dan Sleigh
WOORDtroFEES 2011:
A special mention was made of Dan Sleigh for his novel
Navigator van die Geskiedenis

Lizette Rabe 1997 Lizette Rabe's new books:
August 2011: A biography on Rykie van Reenen:
Rykie: 'n Lewe Met Woorde, Tafelberg August 2011
Bete und Arbeite - The Philippi Germans and their story, mzansimedia, 2010
All proceeds will go towards the iThemba Labantu Centre in Khayelitsha.
Rosie Breuer Practice your languages with Zettelwitz
New e-Books: Zauberer Zettelwitz vom Tafelberg
Table Mountain Wizard e-book
Die Towenaar vanTafelberg E-Boek
Softcover bilingual editions:
Zauberer Zettelwitz - Table Mountain Wizard (German - English)
Die Towenaar van Tafelberg - Table Mountain Wizard (Afrikaans - English).

by Rosemarie Breuer
See all screenshots of the special edition.

Also available at kalahari.com


Webmasterwww.StellenboschWriters.com © Rosemarie Breuer