Home   Alpabetical list of all authors    Photos of Woordfees 04, 05 and 2006 and 2010   Awards   Authors of the Day, 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  Launches

www.StellenboschWriters.comAuthors of the day 10

Marlene van Niekerk
Marlene van Niekerk
The PanSALB Multilingualism Awards 2011
for Afrikaans literacy and for the advancement of Afrikaans
Mhlobo Jadezweni
Mhlobo Jadezweni received the PANSALB award 2011
for the promotion of Xhosa language and literature

Lina Spies
was awarded the
Academy Prize 2011 for the (first complete)
translation of Anne Frank's Diaries:
Die agterhuis
Photo by Izak de Vries
Elsa and Dorothea van Zyl
WOORDtroFEES 2011:
Elsa Joubert was named Word artist 2011.
Her memoirs, Reisiger, also won the
Recht Malan Prize for non-fiction
the Via Afrika Literary Award 2010
Louis Hiemstra Price for non-fiction, 2011
Dan Sleigh
WOORDtroFEES 2011:
A special mention was made of Dan Sleigh for his novel
Navigator van die Geskiedenis

In memoriam

Hubert du Plessis

Hubert du Plessis

7 Junie 1922 - 12 Maart 2011

The acclaimed South African composer and pianist

A tribute to the life and work of Hubert du Plessis will be presented by the Department of Music on Monday 28 March from 16:00 - 17:30 in the Fismer Hall, Stellenbosch Konservatorium.

Allan Heydorn
Allan Heydorn
was awarded the prestigious
WWF-SA Lonmin Award for 2010
Pieter Kapp
Pieter Kapp won the Stals Prize 2010 for History
for Draer van 'n droom: die geskiedenis van die Suid-Afrikaanse Akademie vir Wetenskap en Kuns 1909 - 2009
Carel van der Merwe
Carel van der Merwe

won the Eugene Marais Prize for Geldwolf

Eddie van Dijk

was awarded the
Senior Kaptain Scott-Medal for Biology, 2010
Marié Heese
Marié Heese
received the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best Book, Africa Region, 2010 for The double crown
Breyten Breytenbach
Breyten Breytenbach

Max Jacob Prize 2010 for Outre Voix/Voice Over,
the French edition of his poetry collection Oorblyfsel/Voice over
Mahmoud Darwish Literature Prize 2010
for Oorblyfsel/Voice Over
Hertzog Prize 2010 for Die Windvanger
Troos Vir Die Gebrokenes
Bettina Wyngaard's first book won the
Via Afrika Literary Award 2010
Karin Brynard's thriller won the
Via Afrika Literary Award and the M-Net Prize 2010
In the Never-ever Wood
by Linda Rode and illustrated by Fiona Moodie,
won the Via Afrika Literary Award 2010
and the MER-prys for illustrated children's books
Etienne Van Heerden
Etienne van Heerden

His novel, Dertig nagte in Amsterdam was awarded the following prizes:
University of Johannesburg Literature Prize 2009
M-Net Prize for Prose 2009
WA Hofmeyr Prize and Hertzog Prize 2010.
Philip de Vos
Philip de Vos and Tertia Visser-Downie
(piano) were awarded a WoordTrofee 2010
for Prente by 'n uitstalling

Lizette Rabe 1997
Lizette Rabe
's new book:
Bete und Arbeite - The Philippi Germans and their story, mzansimedia, 2010
All proceeds will go towards the iThemba Labantu Centre in Khayelitsha. More information
Rosie Breuer
A children's book and first bird book in one:
Zauberer Zettelwitz - Table Mountain Wizard (bi-lingual: German - English)
Die Towenaar van Tafelberg - Table Mountain Wizard (Afrikaans - English).

by Rosemarie Breuer
See all screenshots of the special edition.

Webmasterwww.StellenboschWriters.com © Rosemarie Breuer