Home   Alpabetical list of all authors   Francois Verster: 'n Onderhoud met Rachelle Greeff pdf

Rachelle Nelia Greeff
September 2007

Rachelle Greeff

Rachelle Nelia Greeff
Photo by Philip de Vos

Author of Short stories and novels

Rachelle Nelia Greeff was born on 31 August 1957 in Bellville. She attended Stellenbosch University from 1976 to 1980, where she obtained a B Drama degree, followed by a B Hons in Journalism (cum laude). From 1980 to 1986 she worked as a reporter and editor for several newspapers and magazines. From 1986 she worked as a full-time freelance writer, contributing to diverse newspapers and magazines, including Sarie, Wynboer, De Kat and Mail & Guardian.
Rachelle continued her studies at the University of Cape Town, where she obtained a MA for Creative Writing under the supervision of Etienne van Heerden. She has been the book editor at Rapport from 2005 until 2010. She worked as editor, developer of manuscripts, translator, and book reviewer.
Rachelle has two sons from her first marriage, Ferdinand and Albertus and lives in Cape Town. See her dog at the Authors' s Dogs Gallery


1991: CNA Prize for first publication: Die rugkant van die bruid
1999: Sanlam Prize for the short story, Tell him it is never too late
2000: ATKV Prize for Children's Literature (3-5 years) for Net perfek
2002: RAU Prize for Merke van die nag.
2005: Winner of the Stellenbosch Woordfees, Protea Book House and LitNet's national short story competition, Swiets in Rhodesië
2008: Nagtegaal Prize for her play, Die Naaimasjien (adapted from a short story)
2009: KKNK's Herrie Popularity Prize
and 2010: Fleur du Cap Prize for Best Indigenous Text for Die Naaimasjien


Die rugkant van die bruid, (short stories), 1990
Onwaarskynlike engele (short stories), 1993
Al die windrigtings van my wêreld (novel), 1996
Net perfek (children's book)
Enebene en die ander, (children's book), 1996
Spektakels en mirakels (Collection of author's magazine columns), 1998
Merke van die nag(short stories), 2001
Hanna (novel), 2002
'N Ma moet soms soek (Childrens's Reader Storybook Grade 4), Kagiso 2004
Palazzo van die laaste dans (Short Stories), Kwela Books, 2006
Alles behalwe die geheim van my whiskies (A selection of Rachelle Greeff's columns from Die Burger and Rapport), 2008
Die naaimasjien en ander stories (short stories), 2015
Her second play, Buitepos, opened at the 2012 Woordfees in Stellenbosch.

Her short stories can be found in many anthologies and some of her work is translated into German, English, Dutch and Danish.
1991 Vuurslag
1992 Die wond en ander verhale
1994 Vrouevertellers
1998 The torn veil
1998 Borde, borde, boordevol
1999 Die mooiste liefde is verby
1999 Vonkfiksie
Al die windrigtings van my wreld, 1996
German: Wohin der Wind dich trägt, 1999
Dutch: Alle windrichtingen van mijn leven, 2002; Het huis aan de voet van de Tafelberg, 2004


Webmasterwww.StellenboschWriters.com © Rosemarie Breuer

   Publisher of special editions Books